Delta County Master Plan

Delta County's Community and Economic Development Director, Elyse Ackerman-Casselberry is the guest on this episode. She joins Felix Belmont and Ali Lightfoot to talk about new projects and initiatives aimed at creating jobs as well as several new working groups focused on planning for oil and gas development and concentrated animal feeding operations.

  • Senator Randy Baumgardner removed from committees, Democrats want more punishment
  • Bill would allow cities in Colorado to set their own minimum wage rates
  • Western State University in Gunnison initiates new suicide prevention program
  • Delta County sets final public hearing for Master Plan, adoption to be on May 16th

Delta County officials spent over a year and a half and over $100,000 to rewrite and update its Master Plan. KVNF News spoke with Delta County Economic and Community Developer Elyse Ackerman-Casselberry as well as members of the Planning Commission to get the history of the Master Plan process and talked about what's next.

Felix Belmont discusses the Delta County master plan with district 3 commissioner Mark Roeber.

  • Master Plan process continues, three open houses slated this week
  • Lawmakers debate bill that would give emergency aid to Colorado job seekers
  • Two science fairs at local high schools work with University of Colorado
  • Group collects unused food at baseball stadiums, gives it to homeless

  • First draft of Delta County Master Plan completed
  • Three community meetings planned to discuss Master Plan draft
  • Capitol Conversation discusses budget, debate in Senate begins tomorrow
  • CU scientists complete study about Twitter use in Colorado

  • Delta County holding public meetings about master plan
  • Update on the sexual harassment scandal at the state house
  • Children 5 to 16 years old have tripled time using mobile devices
  • Parks and Wildlife advises caution during deer rutting season

Felix Belm0nt speaks with Delta County's Community and Economic Development Director, Elyse Ackerman-Casselberry.