© 2023 KVNF Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Western Slope Arts & Culture Organizations Receive State Grants

Elsewhere Studios
Laura Palmisano

This week Colorado Creative Industries, the state’s art agency, announced this year’s recipients of its Colorado Creates grant program.

It awarded 168 grants to organizations across the state. In the KVNF listening area, groups in Delta, Gunnison, Mesa, Ouray and San Miguel counties got funding.

Paonia-based Elsewhere Studios, an artist in residency program, received $4,000.

"It is for operating expenses so it will help us to take care of our program of bringing artists to Paonia for artist residencies as well a lot of community outreach that we do," said Karen Good, the executive director of the nonprofit.  "We have many different programs: the community supported art library, the community garden, [and] the alley-scape project with the art wall."

The Ridgway Chautauqua Society got a $4,000 grant to help fund the Sherbino Theater. The state also awarded Weehawken Creative Arts in Ridgway $7,500.

"Weehawken Creative Arts is an organization that [offers] arts education and personal growth programs for adults and children year-round to the region," said Ashley King, the executive director of both organizations. "[Weehawken] currently serves Silverton, Ridgway, Ouray and Montrose."

The Sherbino Theater provides programming in the Chautauqua style, said King.

In total, Colorado Creative Industries gave out more than $1.2 million through the Colorado Creates grant program this year.

Laura joined KVNF in 2014. She was the news director for two years and now works as a freelance reporter covering Colorado's Western Slope. Laura is an award-winning journalist with work recognized by the Society of Professional Journalists, Colorado Broadcasters Association, and RTDNA. In 2015, she was a fellow for the Institute for Justice & Journalism. Her fellowship project, a three-part series on the Karen refugee community in Delta, Colorado, received a regional Edward R. Murrow Award.
Related Content